Johor Assembly congratulates PN, BN for winning Padang Serai seat, Tioman seat

08/12/2022 11:45 AM

ISKANDAR PUTERI, Dec 8 (Bernama) -- The Johor State Assembly today congratulated Perikatan Nasional (PN) and Barisan Nasional (BN) for winning the Padang Serai parliamentary seat and Tioman state seat respectively in the 15th General Election (GE15) yesterday.

Speaker Datuk Dr Mohd Puad Zarkashi conveyed the congratulatory message before the question and answer session.

"This August House would like to congratulate the winning candidates and parties for the Padang Serai and Tioman seats," said Mohd Puad who is also Rengit assemblyman.

Datuk Azman Nasrudin of PN won Padang Serai with a 16,260-vote majority, defeating Datuk C. Sivaraj (BN-MIC), Hamzah Abd Rahman (Pejuang-Putra), Dr Mohamad Sofee Razak (PH-PKR), Sreanandha Rao (Independent) dan Mohd Bakhri Hashim (Warisan).

BN managed to defend the Tioman seat when its candidate Datuk Seri Mohd Johari Hussain won with a slim majority of 573 over PN candidate Nor Idayu Hashim.

Three other candidates were Osman A. Bakar (Pejuang), Mohd Fadzli Mohd Ramly (PH-Amanah) and Sulaiman Bakar (Independent).